Sixth Phase: Key Constituencies of Uttar Pradesh

New Delhi । Out of 59 Constituencies in Sixth Phase 14 is from Uttar Pradesh. Key Constituencies from Uttar Pradesh are Sultanpur, Azamgarh and Allahabad.


Union minister Maneka Gandhi is contesting against Sanjay Singh of the Congress for Sultanpur Loksabha Seats.

Once a stronghold of the Congress party, the BJP managed to make a dent in Sultanpur parliamentary constituency for the first time in 1991.

Since the first Lok Sabha election held in 1951, the Congress has bagged the Sultanpur seat seven times, followed by the Bharatiya Janata Party four times and Bahujan Samaj Party twice.

In 2014 this seat was won by Maneka Gandhi’s Son Varun Gandhi.

Sixth Phase: key constituencies of Madhya Pradesh


From Allahabad Lok Sabha constituency, Rita Bahuguna Joshi from BJP, Rajendra Pratap Singh from SP and  Yogesh Shukla from Congress are contesting.

This election will be a challenge for Rita Bahuguna Joshi to carry forward the legacy of BJP veteran Murli Manohar Joshi, who was denied ticket on age ground and her father, Hemwati Nandan who was elected in 1971.

This prestigious Lok Sabha seat has elected former Prime Ministers Lal Bahadur Shastri and V.P. Singh, SP’s Janeshwar Mishra and Bollywood superstar Amitabh Bachchan.

Sixth Phase is a real challenge for BJP in Uttar Pradesh


Fate of Akhilesh Yadav will also be decided in the sixth phase. In Azamgarh he is facing the Bhojpuri star Dinesh Lal Yadav ‘Nirahua’ from BJP.

Considered as a bastion of the Samajwadi Party, Azamgarh is witnessing a Yadav versus Yadav battle. Voters here have elected 18 MPs in 16 general elections and two by-polls. Of the 18 MPs, 12 have been a Yadav candidate.

Azamgarh is one of the few parliamentary constituencies that did not get swept away in the 2014 Modi wave and elected Samajwadi Party (SP) patriarch Mulayam Singh Yadav as its lawmaker.