Sixth Phase: key constituencies of Madhya Pradesh

New Delhi। In the sixth phase of Loksabha Election voting will be held in eight constituencies of Madhya Pradesh.

Congress leader Jyotiraditya Scindia and BJP leader KP Yadav is fighting for Guna seat in Madhya Pradesh.

Scindia is seeking another term from this parliamentary constituency which he has represented since 2002. Guna was one of the two seats in Madhya Pradesh which the Congress could manage to win in 2014 Lok Sabha election. The other was Chhindwara from where Kamal Nath was elected.

Yadav was a trusted lieutenant of Scindia till 2018. He switched sides to the BJP earlier this year after the Congress denied him ticket for the bypoll.

Sixth Phase is a real challenge for BJP in Uttar Pradesh

In Morena incumbent union minister Narendra Singh Tomar is facing Ram Niwas Rawat from Congress.  Tomar  has been shifted to Morena this elections by denying ticket to former MPs Anup Mishra and Ashok Argal. In the 2014 Lok Sabha elections, BJP’s Anoop Mishra had contested against Congress’s Brindawan Singh Sikarwar and had defeated him by a margin of 132,981 votes.

Both Tomar and Rawat had gone up against each other in 2009 with Tomar emerging victorious with more than one lakh votes. By fielding Tomar again, the BJP is hoping for a replay of the 2009 results.

Since 1996, Morena, the birthplace of former Prime Minister Atal Bihari Vajpayee, has constantly voted for the BJP.

The most interesting fight is on Bhopal seat in Madhya Pradesh, where congress veteran Digvijaya Singh is facing a new entrant in politics Sadhvi Pragya Singh Thakur from BJP.

Sixth Phase: 7 states, 59 Constituencies, 979 candidates

Bhopal has grabbed a lot of attention after the BJP fielded the controversial Sadhvi Pragya Singh Thakur, an accused in the 2008 Malegaon bomb blast case.

Pragya Thakur has become an election issue as many have raised questions over her candidature, wondering if someone who’s out on bail in a terror case should be allowed to contest elections.

Digvijay Singh peddled the ‘soft Hindutva’ line by roping in seers, including Computer Baba (Namdeo Das Tyagi) who conducted ‘hath yoga’ and set afire cow dung cakes while Pragya Thakur highlighted her alleged torture in police custody to win the sympathy of voters in Bhopal, which has been a BJP bastion since 1989.