Sixth Phase: Key Constituencies of Delhi

Gautam Gambhir & Atishi

New Delhi। In Sixth phase all seats of Delhi will go on poll.  North East Delhi is considered the most important as Congress state president and former CM Sheila Dixit is contesting against BJP State President Manoj Tiwari from this seat. From AAP Dilip Pandey is contesting for this seat.

Chandani Chowk

From Chandni Chowk Dr Harsh Vardhan fromBJP, Jai Prakash Agarwal from Congress, Pankaj Gupta from Aam Aadmi Party is contesting.

Traders community holds the key in Chandni Chowk, which houses the city’s biggest wholesale markets. The opposition is trying to make the GST, sealing and demonetisation the major issues.

Harsh Vardhan is banking on his appeal to all sections of the society along with the respect people have for Prime Minister Narendra Modi while Agarwal is banking on his old connections with local traders community and and a shift of Muslim voters towards Congress. Gupta is hoping to get benefits of the schemes launched by Delhi government and popularity of Delhi Chief Minister Arvind Kejriwal.

Sixth Phase: Key Constituencies of Uttar Pradesh

East Delhi

In East Delhi Gautam Gambhir from BJP has locked horn with Atishi from AAP, the third contestant is Arvinder Singh Lovely from Congress.

The BJP is relying on Modi’s popularity and Gambhir’s star value, while the AAP is banking on Atishi’s personal connect with the voters and Kejriwal’s charisma. The Congress is calling both candidates of the BJP and the AAP as “political tourists” and “outsiders” as they are not from East Delhi.

Sixth Phase: key constituencies of Madhya Pradesh

South Delhi

Ramesh Bidhuri  from BJP, Boxer  Vijender Singh from Congress and Raghav Chadha from AAP is contesting for the South Delhi Lok Sabha Seat.

With Jats and Gujjars along with Poorvanchalis, who hails from eastern UP and Bihar, making a large chunk of 20.67 lakh voters, the candidates are focussing on these groups to win the seat.

New Delhi

There is triangular contest on this seat . Sitting MP Meenakshi Lekhi from BJP,  Two time MP Ajay Maken from Congress and 43-year-old Brijesh Goyal from AAP is contesting from this seat.

The New Delhi Lok Sabha seat, which houses the residences and workplaces of all the key office holders in the country, has a set of local issues to deal with, starting from the sealing drive to lack of good roads, water supply and dysfunctional street lights.

It is said that New Delhi is among those constituencies in the country where caste politics does not play a crucial role in the elections.

Of the 16 general elections and two by-elections for the seat since 1951, the party which won the seat formed the government at the Centre 13 times.

In 2014, the New Delhi seat was bagged by the Bharatiya Janata Party’s Meenakshi Lekhi who got 4,53,350 votes (47.02 per cent).