SBSP parted ways from BJP, fields 39 candidates

Om Prakash RajbharPhoto Credit: Twitter Om Prakash Rajbhar

Lucknow The Suheldev Bhartiya Samaj Party (SBSP), an ally of the BJP in Uttar Pradesh, will contest on 39 Lok Sabha seats separately.

Uttar Pradesh Minister and SBSP President Om Prakash Rajbhar said that he had waited long enough for the BJP to share seats. SBSP claims to have influence on more than hundred assembly seats of Eastern Uttar Pradesh.

“But the BJP gave Apna Dal two seats and none to us. We have influence on 125 Assembly seats in eastern Uttar Pradesh and we are going to contest on our own,” Om Prakash Rajbhar said.

Rajnath filed nomination, Congress or SP-BSP alliance yet to declare candidate

He admitted that the Bharatiya Janata Party had offered him one seat but on its lotus symbol. “I am not going to finish my own party,” he said.

Rajbhar has announced candidates against Prime Minister Narendra Modi in Varanasi and Home Minister Rajnath Singh in Lucknow among others.

EC barred Yogi, Maya from campaigning for poll code violation

A majority of the candidates he has fielded belong to the Rajbhar, Kol, Patel and Nishad communities – all of which belong to the OBC category.

The SBSP candidates may make a dent in the BJP’s vote share since the Rajbhar concentration is sizeable in eastern Uttar Pradesh.