Modi stays with Varanasi, BJP announced 28 candidates from UP in first list


New Delhi Prime Minister Narendra Modi will fight again from his Varanasi constituency. The BJP’s Central Election Committee, after three marathon meetings on Thursday, issued its first list of 184 candidates, across 20 states and union territories.

Party denied tickets to 6 sitting MPs

The party has announced 28 candidates from Uttar Pradesh, including Modi and Home Minister Rajnath Singh, in the first list, while denying tickets to six sitting MPs, including a Union Minister.

BJP, Congress field star campaigners in Uttarakhand

Rajnath Singh will again contest from Lucknow while Union Ministers Gen. V.K. Singh (retd), Mahesh Sharma and Santosh Gangwar have been fielded from their respective constituencies – Ghaziabad, Gautam Buddha Nagar and Bareilly.

Smriti Irani to face Rahul Gandhi in Amethi again

Union Minister Smriti Irani will again face Congress President Rahul Gandhi in Amethi, while film actress-turned politician Hema Malini will contest from her Mathura seat.

Arun Jaitley may not contest LS Poll, BJP likely to field some RS Members

Former Union Minister Sanjeev Kumar Balyan will fight from his Muzaffarnagar seat against Rashtriya Lok Dal chief Ajit Singh, while Union Minister Satyapal Singh will again contest from his Baghpat seat against the RLD chief’s son Jayant Chaudhary.

Union Minister Krishna Raj has been replaced in Shahjahanpur by Arun Sagar and Agra MP Ram Shankar Katheria by Uttar Pradesh Minister S.P. Baghel.