Karnataka BJP will stake claim to form Government

Karnataka BJPPhoto Credit: Twitter BJP

BengaluruThe BJP in Karnataka will stake claim to form government in the state following the exit of the 14-month-old JD-S-Congress coalition government. Party state President B S Yeddyurappa will be the legislative party leader.

“All our 105 legislators are meeting later in the day at the party office here to unanimously elect Yeddyurappa as the BJP’s legislature party leader and meet state Governor Vajubhai Vala to stake claim to form the new government,” party spokesman G. Madhusudan told news agency IANS.

The party’s state unit will also convey its decision to the BJP’s parliamentary board for its consent to allow Yeddyurappa to head the new government as its chief minister.

Karnataka CM moves SC, says Governor interfering

“If required, Yeddyurappa will go to Delhi for appraising the party’s leadership, including national President Amit Shah and its working President J.P. Nadda on the political situation in the state and the party’s prospects in forming a stable government at the earliest,” said Madhusudan said.

With 15 rebel legislators of the Congress-JD-Secular resigning from their Assembly segments across the state, the effective strength of the 225-member House has reduced to 210, with 106 as the new halfway mark for simple majority.

“With 107 members, including the support of two Independents, our party will be in a position to win the floor test to prove majority in the House,” added Madhusudan.

Will follow SC order : Karnataka Speaker

The Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) is also expecting the lone Bahujan Samaj Party (BSP) member N. Mahesh to extend his support to its proposed government, as he has been ‘expelled’ from his party by its supremo Mayawati on Tuesday for abstaining from the Assembly during the crucial floor test.

Earlier the head of the Janata Dal (Secular)-Congress coalition, HD Kumaraswamy on Tuesday resigned as Karnataka Chief Minister an hour after losing the trust vote in the Assembly on the confidence motion he had moved on July 18 to prove majority.

Kumaraswamy lost the floor test by 6 votes after a four-day marathon debate on the motion that witnessed heated exchanges and acrimonious scenes in the House.

Of the 225-member Assembly, 20 legislators were absent for the floor test, reducing the House strength to 205 with 103 as the halfway mark for simple majority.

Karnataka Congress ministers ‘resign’ to save government

Of the 20 legislators who were absent for the floor test, 15 were rebels of the Congress-JD(S) coalition, two Congress members who are in private hospitals in the city and in Mumbai for treatment, two Independents and one Bahujan Samaj Party (BSP) member.

Soon after the floor test, BSP supremo Mayawati expelled N. Mahesh, the party’s MLA from Kollegal in Karnataka, for abstaining from voting.

The political crisis gripped the 14-month-old fledgling government in Karnataka after 13 Congress and 3 JD-S rebels resigned between July 1 and July 10 in protest against weak leadership and lack of development across the southern state.