Campaign for 2nd phase ends, poll on 97 seats day after tomorrow

Election Commission

New Delhi Now it is voter’s turn as campaigning on 97 Loksabha seats end today for second phase of Lok Sabha Election.

Poll will be held in 97 Loksabha seats spread over 12 states and one union territory on 18th of April.

Eight constituencies in Uttar Pradesh will go to the polls in the second phase. Among eight constituencies Nagina, Bulandshahar, Hathras and Agra are reserved, while Amroha, Aligarh, Mathura and Fatehpur Sikri fall in the general category.

Rajnath filed nomination, Congress or SP-BSP alliance yet to declare candidate

Western Uttar Pradesh will be a test case in the second phase of the general elections. There are serious farmer issues at stake, yet they could be subsumed by the discourse on nationalism.

Across the country, there are other constituencies where farm distress will be a factor, like the Marathwada region, or backward Raiganj in West Bengal, where agrarian crisis is a reality.

The question in Srinagar will be about keeping the separatists at bay. In the 2017 bye-elections, which former Jammu and Kashmir Chief Minister Farooq Abdullah won, the voting percentage was an abysmal 7.2 per cent, the lowest ever recorded till then for a Lok Sabha election.

SBSP parted ways from BJP, fields 39 candidates

In Tamil Nadu, polls to all Lok Sabha and Assembly seats will be held in a single phase. Right now, it is a bipolar election between the AIADMK and DMK. The subtext will be provided by the election results to see whether either the UPA or the NDA has been able to get a toehold in the state.