BJP declares 36 names, to field Patra from Puri

Sambit Patra

New Delhi  The BJP declared the names of 36 candidates in the second list for the coming Lok Sabha polls. Party has decided to field its spokesman Sambit Patra from the Puri parliamentary constituency in Odisha.

The list was declared after a marathon meeting of the Central Election Committee presided over by Bharatiya Janata Party chief Amit Shah and attended by Prime Minister Narendra Modi, Home Minister Rajnath Singh and other senior BJP leader.

Modi stays with Varanasi, BJP announced 28 candidates from UP in first list

The 36 candidates comprise 23 from Andhra Pradesh, six from Maharashtra, five from Odisha and one each from Meghalaya and Assam.

BJP also announced candidates for Andhra and Odisha assembly elections

It also released the list of candidates for 51 Assembly seats in Andhra Pradesh and 22 Assembly seats in Odisha.

In Maharashtra, the party has fielded Smita Uday Wagh from Jalgaon, Pratap Chikkalkar from Nanded, Dr. Bharat Pawar from Dindori, Girish Bapat from Pune, Kanchan Kul from Baramati and Dr. Jaysidheshvar Swami from Solapur.

By fielding Sambit Patra from the Puri Lok Sabha constituency, the party has put an end to the speculation that Modi would contest from the pilgrim town.

Amit Shah behind Advani’s success :  Javadekar

Odisha BJP President Basant Kumar Panda has been declared the party’s candidate for Kalahandi, Suresh Pujari for Bargarh, Nitesh Ganga Deb for Sambalpur and Jayaram Pangi for Koraput parliamentary constituency.

Among the 22 Assembly seats declared by the party, Shisir Gamang, son of former Chief Minister Giridhar Gamang, has been fielded from Gunpur assembly constituency.

Union Minister J. P. Nadda released the list and said that party would like to clear the candidates for first and second phase as soon as possible.

Lok Sabha polls will be held on April 11, April 18, April 23, April 29, May 6, May 12 and May 19.